Vitigliano, an ancient Roman settlement, was first mentioned back in 1085 in writings from the Abbey of San Leolino. The oldest building still in existence today is 1,000 years old.

In 1270 Bertoldo da Verrazzano settled in Panzano thus founding a new branch of the illustrious family which, in the 15th century, extended the homestead and made Vitigliano their stately manor.

In 1525 Giovanni da Verrazzano (born 1485, Castello Verrazzano) was the first seafarer to discover the Hudson Bay in New York as well as large parts of America‘s east coast. On his voyages his cousin Girolamo (born 1494, Vitigliano) accompanied him as cartographer. In 1964 the Verrazzano Bridge in New York was named after them in their honour.

In 1580 the private chapel, the prayer house of Saint Peter Martyr of the Dominican Order, was built and later restored by Ludovicus da Verrazzano.

In the 18th century Carlo Fallaci worked here. He was an ancestor of the famous Florentine writer Oriana Fallaci (1929 -2006) and protagonist of the posthumously published autobiography “A Hat Full of Cherries.“

The Verrazzanos died out in 1819. Vitigliano-Verrazzano consequently became the property of the renowned Vaj da Verrazzano family, later of the Marchese Luigi Ridolfi Vay da Verrazzano, a famous politician, entrepreneur and war hero and, finally, Egidio Favi, the owner of the popular daily newspaper “La Nazione”, and his descendants.

In 2008, almost 200 years later, Vitigliano was rediscovered as the last Verrazzano gem in Chianti, by Marion Hattemer who awoke it from its slumber and elaborately and extensively renovated the property in a way that does justice to its historic significance.

Slide Left
Slide Right